Ready to Wear

Oh! I can hardly wait for fall. It’s still hot here, but the sun is setting a little
earlier and you can feel the change of season start to creep in. It’s subtle, but it’s there. I can feel it.

Feeling these bags for Fall, PIXELFOLK 2011 from The Beta Version

I know there are people who don’t like making cold weather gear in the summer, but I don’t know, I just love it. I think every sweater I’ve made was cast on during the summer. I was knitting with a friend a few days ago and we both had Fall projects on the needles. As we knit away, a dueling pattern comparison rally broke out, “Have you seen the…I think I want to make it. What about this?”  “Ya, I saw that. Cute, I’m gonna make this!”… Eventually we ended up hopping on Ravelry to go through our queues, make some real decisions. We narrowed down our long lists to the best of the best and fantasized about yarn and field trips to knitting shops and Rhinebeck. And I’m am not joking–we were positively GIDDY. At one point I think I was jumping up and down and clapping. It was so much fun.

I felt pretty giddy when I first saw this Fall/Winter collection.

Under the influence, traditional meets traditional. Junya Wantanabe Fall/Winter 2011-12 Collection

Last week I knit my way down to Brooklyn on the F train to the Vogue Knitting trunk show at La Casita, a cute little LYS on Smith Street. Flipping through the upcoming Early Fall issue, we sipped lambrusco and talked of knee socks, caplets and color. It was so fun to see all the samples in person. I love to see how the pieces translate from the high fashion styling to real life. I think Fall knitting is all about fantasy– on and off the page. Hooray Fall! I am SO ready to wear my cold weather knits!

Summer isn’t so bad. Enjoying some next-seasonal knitting in the garden of Robin Des Bois in Cobble Hill–just a quick walk fromLa Casita!

1 Comment

Filed under design, Knitting, made, NYC

One response to “Ready to Wear

  1. M

    You have such an eye for incredible finds! The men’s sweater/blazers are amazing. Your blog reads like a story and I want to be your friend – you have certainly inspired me to make something/anything with my own hands. I will start knitting again today!

Leave a Reply

