Foxy

Anthropological Study:

There are a few versions of this crazy scarf around town. It had a brief and shining moment at Anthropologie that was met with mixed reaction. People get so weird about animals–”it’s creepy” OMG. It’s knit. From yarn. Not an actual dead fox.

Here’s the Shrewd Fox from Anthro

Ok, so a friend of mine really loved this scarf (me too). We were out at brunch one afternoon and a few mimosas in I said (emphatically!) I can knit one for you!

Now let me be clear about something. I love to knit. I knit a lot. But, I don’t
know how to knit a dead fox. I am also a complete and total rule follower. I knit from patterns. It’s my dream to be able to create my own designs. While I’m
fairly proficient and can get myself through some funky written instructions and make some minimal adjustments, I’ve never ever considered going off the page.

In my years of knitting, the two best pieces of advice I’ve ever received are as follows and totally contradictory.

  • Trust the pattern
  • You are smarter than the pattern

Used with care and discretion, it’s great advice for almost any situation. Especially for us rule followers.

Long story…
I made a promise and sat down and  figured out how to knit a reasonably convincing stole. It was such a fun, surprisingly easy knit. And no pattern! It isn’t perfect, but turned out pretty cute.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

There is a knitalong for a fox stole on Ravelry
And cute pattern The Quick Brown Fox there as well. I like it cause it’s a pangram.

When I write my first pattern it will have to be:
We promptly judged antique ivory buckles for the next prize.
or
Jelly-like above the high wire, six quaking pachyderms kept the climax of the extravaganza in a dazzling state of flux.

Which reminds me of this:

Hilarious.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Foxy

  1. UM I LOVE THIS… can i have one? how much do you charge lol i know it’s not yours but u should make these… itd be hilarious in a fox orangey colour too!

Leave a Reply

