My card…

Yesterday during a critique in my portfolio class, “N” said my work was comforting. I like that. I think “comforting” suits the OLD MADE aesthetic quite nicely. He also mentioned I should probably shy away from knitting like a crazy person (my words) during interviews to avoid any irrevocable Old MAID associations (of which I am terrified). Great advice, duly noted.

One of my favorite things about design is the research. As I’m considering ways to brand the sh*t out of OLD MADE, I’ve come across these little niceties that make branding oneself feel a whole lot more palatable.

Letterheady

How about Abe Lincoln’s
Carte De Visite ?

“Abraham Lincoln credited his election to his Cooper Union Speech and to his carte made by Matthew Brady”–Robert Hirsh
Every little detail of the President’s image considered here.

A bit out of control (OOC) for my purposes, victorian calling cards are seriously charming. As if the cards aren’t pleasantly fussy enough, A History of Victorian Calling Cards includes this elaborate and very touching messaging system.

In the Victorian day, the design, style, and even color border of a card actually carried a message to the receiver.  The meaning of the folds were as follows:
A folded top left corner meant the visitor had come in person; this corner unfolded meant a servant was sent.

  • A folded bottom left corner signified a farewell
  • A folded top right corner meant congratulations
  • A folded bottom right corner expressed condolence

If there was a black band around the edge, it signified the carrier was in mourning over the loss of a loved one.  These various customs for folding corners fell in and out of fashion and the by 1900’s, the folding of corners went out of style…

Remember when Laura Ingalls got her very own calling cards? So excited!
There they were, delicate pink cards, with a spray of pinker roses and blue cornflowers. Her name was printed in thin, clear type: Laura Elizabeth Ingalls.–Little Town on the Prairie

I want to feel that way with my cards. For me, I think that means making sure there is evidence of the hand in the pieces I leave behind, a feeling that they are unique and in some way personal. A feeling of comfort.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

